High School Hockey

Ten high school teams comprise the Monocacy Valley Hockey League (MVHL) which is part of the statewide Maryland Student Hockey League (MSHL) of 50 + teams.  Although Frederick County Public Schools do not sponsor ice hockey as a varsity sport, these school teams are considered club teams and most teams award players with varsity letters at the completion of the season.  Under the guidance of USA Hockey rules, practices start in October and the season of approximately 15 games, begins in mid November and runs through the end of February.

Skate Frederick hosts the Sunday Night League which assists in developing our 8th grade hockey players and incorporating them into our high school teams.  The season consists of 10 games, no practices, starting in mid October through the end of February.

 The Action’s On the Ice with Skate Frederick’s High School Hockey program.

If you are interested in playing high school hockey, please refer to the team managers and coaches listed below:


Frederick/ Carroll Co-op

The Frederick/Carroll Co-Op Team has been approved by the MSHL board in order to accommodate high school hockey players in our area whose schools do not have clubs that offer the traditional high school hockey program.  Contact your area representative for further information.   Tuscarora, Brunswick, Catoctin, St John’s, Thomas Johnson, and Carroll County players please contact Coach Mike Martin.

 Coach – Mike Martin


Assistant Coach- Steve Tingley


Assistant Coach-Adam Giera

Frederick High School Hockey Club

Coach - John Weaver

(727) 748-5181

Governor Thomas Johnson High School Hockey Club

Manager - Sandy Shields

(301) 706-3899

Coach – Craig Shields


Linganore High School Hockey Club

Coach – Dave Hammer

(240) 457-2635

Middletown Knights Hockey Team

Manager – Susan Mangiafico


Coach – Paul Mangiafico

(571) 437-7722

Oakdale High School Hockey Club

Contact- Dave Pard



Urbana High School Hockey Club

Manager – Nancy Dann


Coach – Toby Heusser


 Walkersville High School Hockey Club

Manager – Duane Stone


Coach – Sean Donegan


Dave Pard MVSL Commisioner

For more information, contact Joyce Glorioso, at 301-662-7362 x 17 or email at hockey@skatefrederick.comcastbiz.net